PERSONAL AND NEWS ITEMS.

The 107th annual meeting of the British Medical Association was held in Aberdeen. The President, Dr. Thomas Fraser, took as a subject for his address, "Forty Years of Practice."

The Ebert Prize, highest award of the AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION for pharmaceutical research, was presented at the Association's convention in Atlanta to Dr. B. V. Christensen, Director of the University of Florida School of Pharmacy. Dr. Christensen, who will take over the directorship of the Ohio State School of Pharmacy, September first, received the award for a paper on "Biological Assaying" presented at the Minneapolis convention in 1938.

The Kilmer Prize, highest recognition for a student of Pharmacy, was awarded to Guilford C. Gross of the University of South Dakota School of Pharmacy. It was for a paper entitled, "Study of Red Squill."

Among those who visited the American Institute of Pharmacy, during August, were the following: Kenneth E. Avis, Elmer, N. J.; J. W. Scofield, Shellyville, Ky.; Dr. A. H. Volle, Vincennes, Ind.; Mary L. Funk, New York City; J. C. Mesem, Outwood, Ky.; Mary E. Stuart, New Orleans, La.; C. T. Abrilat, Washington, D. C.; Enrique A. Gonzalez Flores, Ponce, P. R.; L. D. Havenhill, Lawrence, Kans.; E. B. Stringham, Shafter, Calif.; Cornelius Rohrer, Parlier, Calif.; V. A. Rohrer, Parlier, Calif.; Raymond P. Borawinski, Chicago, Ill.; H. George DeKay, W. LaFayette, Ind.; Marjorie M. Nelson, Baker, Ore.; Wm. W. Wrigley, St. Augustine, Fla.; C. B. Allison, Dallas, Tex.; G. K. Smith, Washington, D. C.; John V. Painter, Washington, D. C.; George A. Wilson, Washington, D. C.; George A. Mangs, Springfield Gardens, N. Y.; Jesse E. Davis, Roanoke, Va.; Will T. Head, Jr., Terry, Miss.; H. S. Johnson, New Haven, Conn.; Alice Quinn, Washington, D. C.; Mazel Hinckley, Belmont, Mass.; Mr. and Mrs. F. U. LuBott, Belnord, Mass.; P. Duderstadt, Chicago, Ill.; Ike Reabig, Chicago, Ill.; A. L. Rivard, Lewiston, Me.; Charles F. Gilson, Providence, R. I.; Leo C. Clark, Providence, R. I.; H. Kuo, Iowa City, Iowa; C. T. Li, Iowa City, Iowa; Chi-Chuan Shen, Shanghai, China; M. Szymczyk, Cleveland, O.; Henry

Szymczyk, Cleveland, O.; G. T. Hen, Ann Arbor, Mich.; Joseph Szymczyk, Cleveland, O.; K. T. Chad, Ann Arbor, Mich.; E. C. Severin, Philip, S. Dak.; Rose Hacy, Chapel Hill, N. C.; George P. Wilson, Columbus, O.; Helen Blank, Cleveland, O.; Morris Harrison, Collingswood, N. J.; Eugene Youngken, Boston, Mass.; Dr. and Mrs. Heber W. Youngken, Boston, Mass.; Daniel D. Tanjec, Cleveland, O.; John F. Miller, Cleveland, O.

Dr. A. G. DuMez, secretary-treasurer of the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education, announced that a list of accredited Pharmacy Schools will be published on or about January 1, 1940. Fifty of the sixty-one Colleges of Pharmacy which have applied for accreditment have been inspected; the remaining schools will be inspected this fall as early as possible.

A Conference of state pharmaceutical leaders is contemplated for early fall, in Seattle, Washington, to consider revision of the state pharmacy law; the Board of Pharmacy, deans of both Schools of Pharmacy, and officers and board members of the Association, will attend.

The Wisconsin Pharmaceutical Association met on September 19th-21st, in Milwaukee, for its annual convention, which was one of the most out-standing events in the history of the association. The entertainment was most enjoyable and the business and professional sessions worthwhile. Among the speakers were: Harry S. Noel, Eli Lilly & Co.; Herbert W. Adkins, vice-president of Yahr-Lange, Inc.; Dr. R. W. Clark, formerly secretary of the Wisconsin Pharmaceutical Association and now of Merck & Co., Rahway, N. J.; I. H. Bander of McKesson & Robbins. Dr. Arthur Uhl conducted a professional clinic which was even better than usual this year. In addition to the regular drug show there was one of cosmetic and toiletry goods.

Mr. J. W. Gayle, for fifty years secretary of both the Kentucky State Board of Pharmacy and the Kentucky State Pharmaceutical Association, was elected Honorary President of the American Pharmaceutical Association at its convention in Atlanta. Mr. Gayle joined the Association in 1891.